flag usa FOLK MUSIC by Greil Marcus

    Here Greil Marcus tells Dylan’s story through seven of his most transformative songs. Marcus’s point of departure is Dylan’s ability to “see myself in others.” The motor of his music is empathy: as at the beginning of his career in New York he spoke of writing a song about Emmett Till in the first person, nearly sixty years later he circled the globe as John F. Kennedy arguing with infinity as he waited between life and death.

    The book has been translated in Czech in 2023.

-A BOB DYLAN BIOGRAPHY IN SEVEN SONGS, Yale University Press. The seven songs -supposed to be illustrated on the frontcover- are: Blowin’ in the Wind (1962), The Lonesome Death of Hattie Carroll (1964), Ain’t Talkin’ (2006), The Times They Are A-Changin’ (1964), Desolation Row (1965), Jim Jones (1992), and Murder Most Foul (2020).
Thank you to Peter Oudejans for the information and scan .

folk music greil marcus Bob Dylan book
2022, Hardcover, 288 pages.
ISBN 978-0300255317
folk music greil marcus Bob Dylan book
2023, Paperback, 273 pages.
ISBN 978-0-300-27410-3

Free counters!